History Legendary Stuff

The 1980s: The Golden Era

Business as usual as Leopards marked the 80s by bring more silverware to the Den marking an unprecedented period of dominance majorly in the domestic and regional scene. 

1980:                Abaluhya FC changed name to AFC Leopards Sports Club.

1980:                AFC Leopards claimed the league title in the 19th round still unbeaten. From their last 5 matches they won 1, drew 1 and lost 3.

1981:                AFC Leopards clinches league title once more.

1982:                the Club lifts the East and Central Africa Clubs Cup beating Rio Tinto from Zimbabwe in the final.

1982:                AFC Leopards clinches league title for the third year running.

1983:                In Zanzibar, AFC Leopards claim their second outright success in the East and Central Africa Club championships with a 2-1 win over Malawi’s Admarc Tigers.

1983:                Finished third in the year’s national football league.

1984:                The 2-1 win over Gor Mahia gives ‘ingwe’ their fourth CECAFA Club championship and the third one in a row.

1984:                AFC Leopards clinches the Kenya Challenge Cup

1985:                AFC Leopards reach the East and Central Club Cup final once more but lose 2-0 to Gor Mahia.

1985:                The Leopards defeat El-Merreikh of sudan over two legs in African Cup Winners Cup, winning the opener in Nairobi’s Nyayo 2-0 before suffering a 2-1 defeat in Sudan.

1985:                Lifts the Kenya Challenge Cup for the second time.

1985:                Finished runners up in the national football league.

1985:                Wilberforce Mulamba produces a magnificent performance to inspire Leopards   to an African Cup Winners Cup quarter final success with victory over Ghanaian giants Asante Kotoko at Nyayo stadium. The mercurial midfielder hits a superb double to lead ingwe to a thoroughly deserved 5 – 4 victory on penalties.

1986:                Eliminated Vital’ O of Burundi in the Cup Winners’ Cup 1986 on a 2 -1 aggregate; after drawing 1 -1 and winning 1 – 0 in the return leg in Nairobi

1986:                Won the national football league with an unbeaten record, scoring the highest number of goals; 96 goals and conceding only 21 goals.

1986:                Ingwe reach the last four of the East and Central Africa Club championship held in Tanzania before bowing out to El-Merreikh of Sudan through an extra time goal and eventually settling for bronze after beating Zambia’s Mufulira Wanderers 1- 0.

1986:                The Leopards were knocked out of the CAF Cup Winners’ Cup falling to Kalamu FC of Zaire (DRC) after a 1 -1 draw in Nairobi and losing 1 – 3 in the return match in Lubumbashi.

1988:                Won the national football league remaining unbeaten all season.

1989:                AFC Leopards was once again crowned league champions. They also reach the Moi Golden Cup final but lose to Kenya Breweries 4 – 5 on penalties after a 1 – 1 draw in regular time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *