AFC Leopards will host Nzoia Sugar in their second match of the league at Machakos County’s Kenyatta Stadium on Saturday the 1st of April 2017

Nzoia Sugar have made a strong comeback in the Kenyan Premier League, managing to get four points from Tusker FC and Mathare United. AFC Leopards announced their ‘return’ in style, hammering promoted side Nakumatt 3-0.

The team performed dismally last season, finishing 13th on the log, and went on a signing spree during the transfer window to rebuild the same. Under the leadership of Bernard Mwalala, Nzoia Sugar lost just two of the 38 matches played last season in the Nationwide Super League, and has seemingly carried the form to the top tier.

But they have to prove it against Leopards. The promoted side scored 73 goals (division’s best) last season and conceded just 20 goals (division’s lowest) while AFC Leopards scored 32 and conceded 36. AFC Leopards’ duo of Samuel Ndung’u and Vincent Oburu will miss out due to unresolved issues with their transfers.


AFC Leopards: All eyes will be glued on Robinson Kamura, who is proving Mathare United coach Francis Kimanzi wrong by impressive displays. After impressing in his debut with Leopards and Harambee Stars, the youngster will definitely want to continue with his run. Whyvonne Isuza had a solid start against Nakumatt, but he has an even tougher task of stopping a seamless Nzoia midfield. He will be the man to help Ingwe dominate the midfield.

Nzoia Sugar: Defender Edwin Wafula is expected to line-up against his former side and he will definitely want to prove the club wrong for letting him go. Another player, who will be expected to give his best is Brian Otieno, he has been excellent in the last two games and he just has to prove his quality against the thirteen times league champions.


AFC Leopards: Ian Otieno, Robinson Kamura, Salim Abdalla, Joshua Mawira, Duncan Otieno, Mang’oli Bernard (C), Dennis Shikhayi, Marcus Abwao, Whyvone Isuzza, Paul Kiongera and Fiamenyo Gilbert.

Nzoia Sugar: Benson Mangala, Edwin Wafula, Hillary Wandera, Brian Otieno, Vincent Ngesa, Peter Gin, Boniface Omondi, Lawrence Juma, Masita Masuta, Elvis Rupia and Luke Namanda.